The Love Building was built in 1883 by David Love as a place to conduct his mercantile business. A classic example of Victorian architecture, it is a two-story stone building with an ornate metal façade. The building went through some comprehensive renovations in the early 1980’s, but with the passage of time and the hot Texas sun, it was again worn and in need of attention.
This was a group effort of the owners, the City of Georgetown’s historic planner, and the State of Texas Main Street program. Utilizing historic photos from the Williamson County Museum and Preservation Georgetown’s collection, a design was agreed upon to bring back the Victorian beauty of the building. The façade was re-worked in Douglas Fir to better handle the bustle of a downtown property. Double sashed, double-paned custom windows replaced the single pane, rotted windows, while still providing a historic look and feel. A standing seam metal awning was added for both durability and shade protection.
The interior received fresh paint and new utilities. The upstairs rooms were converted from offices back to apartments. The kitchen and bathrooms were remodeled with concrete tile and granite counters. Long leaf pine floors were sourced from the old stage of the Austin Municipal Auditorium…. on which Elvis, Johnny Cash, Ray Charles, the Police and Bob Marley all played.
The Love Building again has life and is a vibrant part of the landscape of the Georgetown square.